The Presidents Cup was held on Saturday the 6th of June and this coincided with the resumption of regular operation of the clubhouse and bar. This long standing event is held annually and hosted by the current president of the club, this year Tim Tan invited all the club’s present ex-presidents to take part in the event and these included Ian Macdonald, Greg Parry, Stuart Munro, Rob Giles, Rob Viol, Darrell Arnett and Jim Purves.

Tim Tan generously donated fantastic prizes for the event and in a twist of fate, the winner of the day with 42 points was the previous president Ian Macdonald who played a great round and took home a bottle of Penfolds RWT 2012! In second place, Damian Long with 39 points took home a bottle of quality Whiskey and a considerable allocation of vouchers was given to all other good scores on the day. In addition, the prestigious NAGA award was given to Terence Tan for his hard work on the day. 

Winner Ian Macdonald, President Tim Tan and Captain Joe Alexander


With a significant crowd present in the bar, Ian’s speech acknowledged that this was the first individual trophy he had won at the club in his long tenure as a member and the first event he had won without the help of his son Grant Macdonald! With so many people upstairs after the game, the bell ring by Ian was a costly one, but it was in good spirit and the members rejoiced as regular operation of the bar has returned to the club after a period of absence.

Thanks to Tim and all members that played in the event, with over 120 players in the field it was great to see the course and clubhouse so busy, long may it continue.