Over the long weekend the 39th Nedlands Junior Masters took place and featured some of the state’s best junior golfers in a 36 hole tournament. This year the major title sponsor was Srixon and a big thank you must go to Srixon for their ongoing support. Supported sponsors included Retravision, Coca Cola Amatil, APC Storage, IGA Captain Stirling and Baker’s Delight. Thanks to all our sponsors for making this long running event possible yet again.

Despite less than ideal weather leading up to the event, the course was beautifully presented and excellent golf was on display. The field had some very low markers including Josiah Gilbert +6, Aldrich Poteiger +4, Adam Brady +3, Gareth Steyn +3, Alex Maxwell +3 and Abbie Teasdale +2. As such the scores were equally as impressive including multiple rounds under par and a low round of 68. Fast, true greens meant birdies were abundant but the speed of the greens also caused problems on our signature hole the par 4 6th. The wind blew strongly from behind on both days, making the green reachable but added difficulty in stopping the ball on the putting surface on the approach shot.  Interestingly, no eagles were recorded on the hole this year. 

The boys overall winner came down to a putt on the final hole where overnight leader and last year’s winner Jordan Jung had a par putt to force a playoff with Adam Brady, but he was unsuccessful and was runner up to Adam. Adam played a great final round of 68 and when he teed off the 14th teebox, he was 7 under for the day.


The girls overall winner was also close with Abbie Teasdale shooting 151 over 36 holes to be crowned the winner by 4 shots over Valerie Khuu (155). Abbie played a great final round on the Monday including 8 birdies in her last 12 holes!! Valerie also played superbly and considering she was under 13 years old at the time of the event, she is likely to be a future champion of this event. 



The club’s own Riley Gott played well and consistently to shoot 74/74 for 148 overall and this was good enough to win the Boys Under 13 age category and place 7th overall, well done to Riley.

The full list of winners and prizes is available here:

2020 Junior Masters Winners and Prizes

The Nedlands Junior Masters committee is the driving force behind this event every year and chairman Cedric Bell, Marty and Brady Morris played a pivotal role in ensuring this event ran smoothly. A massive thank you to Cedric and Brady/Marty for their early starts and tireless preparation efforts leading up to the event. Without them, this event simply would not be possible. The ever reliable Greg Fitzhardinge also was the rules official for the entire weekend and was one of the first to arrive in the morning and last to leave, a big thank you to Greg for providing his expertise yet again. Greg’s experience and knowledge of tournament golf is an invaluable resource and we are grateful for his generosity with his time yet again. The Vice-Captain Stewart Wharton and captain Joe Alexander also assisted heavily during the event making sure everything ran smoothly on and off the course, thanks to Joe and Stewart. 

This sort of tournament is simply not possible without an army of volunteers and over 40 Nedlands members volunteered their weekend to help proceedings. The Junior Masters is the volunteers ‘Superbowl’ event and in the days leading up to the event the course volunteers (Boyne, Steward, Mumford, Munro, Wharton & Blackmore) worked hard to clean the course of debris from the high winds the days prior. Leading up and on the day Gordon and Susie Rich organised their army of volunteers to help spot balls, ensure fairways were clear for teeing off and calling up of groups on the 6th hole, thank you to Gordon and Susie and all of their volunteers (there are too many to mention!). In order to feed the army of volunteers, Gavin Furness and Hugo Morris did a great job with the sausage sizzle over the weekend, thank you Gav and Hugo. A golf tournament is not a golf tournament without a leaderboard and Marg Doyle, Carolyn Browne and Rhonda Moore kept everyone updated with the scoring. As always the course was beautifully presented and thanks to Tony McFadyean and his crew for their hard work.