As mentioned in the preview for the CG Dudley Cup, “The Dudley” is the qualifying event for the Club Championship. Over the years there have been many great Champions and particular mention must be made of Russell and Dennis Parker who between them won the Club Championship on no less than thirteen (13) occasions. Russell won on 10 (ten) occasions and Dennis (3) three.

The defending Champion is Ben Cullinan who will go all out to win back to back Championships.

Not only does the Dudley serve as the qualifying event for the Club Championship but equally as important it serves as the qualifying event for 4 other Championship Divisions. There have been changes to the Championship Divisions over the years and Perpetual Trophies are awarded in the following-:

MINOR CHAMPIONSHIP             Brian Bolton Tray (Brian was Captain in 1980/1981)

2019 Champion Aiden Cooper

“A” GRADE CHAMPIONSHIP    John Roberts Trophy (John was President in 1980/1981)

2019 Champion Gavin Furness

“B” GRADE CHAMPIONSHIP    John Duncan Trophy (John was President in 1982/1983)

2019 Champion Simon Smith

“C” GRADE CHAMPIONSHIP    Fred Symons Tray (Fred was a popular Veteran Member)

2019 Champion Richard Oates

Following the CG Dudley Cup on the 12th and 13th September the qualifiers for the various grades were determined.

In the Club Championship, the number one seed, Tristan Geerlings would love to win the Championship for the first time but the other seven qualifiers are equally as keen. Tristan’s first round match will be against Anthony Joseph.

Defending Champion Ben Cullinan will play David Southam in the first round and the 2018 winner Jeremy Crabb will be pitted against Edmund Hall.

Remembering that the first round losers in the Championship go into the Minor Championship, Aiden Cooper, the defending Champion, would certainly prefer to win his first round Championship match against James Morris and progress to the semi-finals. So the draw for this will not be determined until after the first Championship round.

Disappointingly, Gavin Furness will not be able to defend his title in the “A” Grade Championship and so the number one qualifier Dean Hannell would certainly love to have his name on the trophy for the first time – as of course will all other qualifiers. Tony Slee will be trying to defeat Dean in the first round.

Unfortunately, the defending Champion, Simon Smith did not qualify for the “B” Grade Title he won in 2019 and The Dudley winner, Campbell Thomson is not available. Bob King, the number one qualifier, will be keen to add this title to his list of golfing achievements. Bob will be hard to beat for the title but he will have a difficult task in his first round match against the “wily” Bevan Lawrence

Richard Oates did not play in The Dudley so is unable to defend the “C” Grade Championship title he won in 2019.

After his disappointment in The Dudley, past President Rob Viol will be hard to beat. John Sheridan, his first round opponent, will have to overcome the 12 stroke handicap disparity, and “playing in the morning” if he is to proceed to the semi finals.


There will then be a one week break and the finals will be played on SATURDAY OCTOBER 3.

All players are reminded that where handicaps are involved, the handicap you play off in the Championships is the handicap when you entered The CG Dudley Cup.

Congratulations are extended to all qualifiers and Best Wishes for the Championships.  Click on the link below for the respective Matchplay brackets.

 Club Championship 2020

A Grade Championship 2020

B Grade Championship 2020

C Grade Championship 2020

From Greg Fitzhardinge