A disappointing field of 20 pairs braved wintry conditions on Sunday 27th June to compete in the Club Foursomes Championship, with the Gross winners being presented with the R. L Newman Tray and the Nett winners also recognised with the Nett Championship Trophy.

The Club Foursomes Championship was first played in 1969 and then recommenced in 1973 when club stalwart Bob Newman presented the perpetual trophy to the club. Bob was best known as Tournament Director of the Nedlands Masters over many years and an “A” Grade Pennant player.

This year’s event was sponsored by Past President Ian Macdonald and we acknowledge his ongoing support of the club.

So, who would be the 2021 Champions?

Note – The following report is provided assuming all players started from the hole as displayed on the time sheet.


The two-time Champions (2015 and 2019), Gary Hing and Steve Noske, were looking to make it back-to-back victories and a third win, but there was some keen opposition looking to derail them.

The Champions at the end of the day were Anthony Joseph and Ken Hall with a Gross Score of 84. And given that their Handicap was 10.5 they started the day as underdogs as there were seven other pairings with handicaps between 5.5 and 8.0.

Starting from the 4th Hole double bogies on the 4th and the 9th was not the start they had wished for but a back nine of 41 saw them back in the hunt. A double on their penultimate hole followed by a par on the last saw them lead the field early.

Playing alongside them were the defending champion, who despite birdieing their final hole cost themselves any chance after playing holes 9 thru 14 in 10 over par. They also signed for 84, as did John Venner and Reegan Cake who looked to have the title in their grasp only to have 10 on the 11th hole.

A shot further back were Gavin Furness and Stuart Waters (who never really recovered from an 8 over front nine) and Stewart Wharton and Scott van Heurck, whose double bogey on the 18th hole ultimately proving costly.

So, after a very closely run affair Anthony Joseph and Ken Hall were declared the winners on a countback from Gary Hing and Steve Noske and John Venner and Reegan Cake.

Congratulations to our newly crowned Foursomes Champions Anthony Joseph and Ken Hall – a well deserved victory.


The Nett Championship was won by Cory Mann and Andy Roberts. Playing from a handicap of 17, and commencing from the second hole they looked anything but winners after their first 5 holes where they had used 9 of their allotted handicap. They recovered finishing the final 13 holes the same as the first 5- finally settling for a Nett Score of 73.

This saw them edge out the Gross Winners by half a shot with Steve Hollier and Dave Mofflin and Grant Evans and John Clarkson back on 75.

Our appreciation is extended to our Sponsor Ian Macdonald, the course staff and house staff for making the day a success for the players who braved the wintry weather – at least the rain held off.

Hopefully 2022 will see a larger field of members playing in more pleasant conditions.

From – Greg Fitzhardinge