Cliff Matson with Sponsors Tony Slee and Ron Birmingham and Captain Campbell Thomson

Saturday the 7th of October saw 101 players contest the 33rd playing of the Cam Wilson Bowl event and the following Past Winners were in the field – Mal Skipworth (1999), Andrew Ogilvie (2008), Angus Johnson (2010), Ray Badnall (2013) Stewart Wharton (2015), Scott Van Heurck (2017), and Grant Evans (2019).

The Cam Wilson Bowl was inaugurated in 1991 and was named after former Captain, President, Historian and Life Member Cam Wilson. The Cup was a forerunner to the CG Dudley Cup and Club Championships. Prior to 1991 only Full Members were eligible to play in the CG Dudley so the committee of the day decided to include a number of Provisional Members in the field and these positions came from the results of the Cam Wilson Bowl. Now it is open to all members with Saturday Playing Rights.

Once again longstanding members Tony Slee (47 years) and Ron Birmingham (43 years) sponsored the day and we thank them for their continued support.

Invited to join their playing group was former member Phil McPhail (a past Club Champion).

It was a perfect Spring Day with warm conditions all day. After the morning field had finished Cliff Matson (19 H’Cap) led the way with 40 points – which was the same score and same handicap as he had in 2022 where he was beaten on a countback ultimately running 3rd. His score was helped significantly over the concluding four holes where he amassed 13 points. Could this be his revenge?

Mark Matthews (6 H’Cap), starting from the 6th, had 17 points for the front nine and came home 1 over the card and 20 points for a total of 37 points. Also on 37 points was Matt Dumble (6 H’Cap) who had 27 points after eleven holes – 5 in front of 2’s. Things went a little awry over the final 7 holes where he could only manage 10 points.

Next was Oliver Bisschops (20 H’Cap) with 36 points – starting from the 6th he had 16 points for his first nine holes and a solid 20 points for his closing 9 holes.

In the afternoon Jimmy Smith (22 H’Cap) had 20 points on his front nine and was on fire over the next 5 holes where he had 3 points, 1 point, 3 points, 3 points, 4 points for 14 points leaving him with 34 points with 4 holes to play and looking like a winner.

The next 2 holes revealed 4 points so with 2 holes left he needed 3 points for the win – 2 was not enough as he would lose on a countback to Cliff Matson. One point on the 17th needed him to make 6 for 2 on the final hole which unfortunately he could not manage and finished with 40 points and in the Runner-up position.

Others who made moves at one time or another throughout the afternoon included-

Darrell Arnett (10 H’Cap) – 36 points – had 19 points on his first nine but could not make any inroads after that.

Campbell Thomson (13 H’Cap) – 35 points – poor front nine cost him any chance – made a charge on the back nine but a wipe on the last hole probably cost him the “A” Grade.

Brett Thomson (12 H’Cap) – 37 points – two good nines but not enough – wins “A” Grade.

Damon Watkins (10 H’Cap) – 32 points – too many wipes and one pointers on a miserable back nine of 12 points.

Jeff Hamdorf (18 H’Cap) – 36 points – a loss on the ninth was costly but rallied to finish the back nine with 19 points – wins “B” Grade.

Finally, congratulations to our 2023 Champion Cliff Matson on being crowned the 2023 winner.

The sponsors made a further distribution of golf balls to those in attendance at presentations who had not featured in the winners list.

A special vote of thanks to our sponsors of the day, Tony Slee and Ron Birmingham, the Course, House and Pro shop staff and the101players who made the day a success.

Best of luck to all players playing in the CG Dudley Cup next weekend.


WINNER                   Cliff MATSON          40 Points

RUNNER- UP           Jimmy SMITH          40 Points

THIRD                       Mark MATTHEWS   36 Points

FOURTH                   Matt DUMBLE          36 Points

“A” GRADE             Brett THOMSON        37 Points

“B” GRADE             Jeff HAMDORF          36 Points

“C” GRADE             Bryan GARDINER       34 Points

BEST GROSS           Alister MILES             35 Points (Gross Stroke Score of 73)

BEST FORMER CHAMPION       Stewart WHARTON            35 Points

Roving Reporter’s Comment

How did the captain get into “B” Grade? He was on 10 twelve months ago.

After 2022 a deserved winner in Cliff Matson – commiserations to Jimmy Smith.


From Greg Fitzhardinge